RMAN and NetBackup retention policy conflicts

The retention policy for RMAN defaults to 1. Which means than any more than one backup copy of any file is obsolete. If you run a command like “delete obsolete” RMAN will clean out everything except the last copy. All of our RMAN backups write to Netbackup which has several retention policies already configured. When Netbackup deletes backups according to these policies, RMAN sees the files as expired. So the right way to clean up RMAN’s repository is to use “delete expired”. In order to prevent “delete obsolete” from destroying the wrong backups; issue this command: “configure retention policy to none;”

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s