Oracle error 19505 returned by remote Oracle server

I was re-running an rman duplicate from active database today and got this error. I had assumed that the duplicate command would overwrite the files from the previous run. Instead it created new filenames and caused the ASM disk group to fill up.

Here’s the rman message on the target system:

RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-03002: failure of Duplicate Db command at 11/16/2010 10:08:27
RMAN-03015: error occurred in stored script Memory Script
RMAN-03009: failure of backup command on ORA_DISK_6 channel at 11/16/2010 10:00:25
ORA-17628: Oracle error 19505 returned by remote Oracle server

Here’s the alert log entry on the auxiliary system:

ORA-19505: failed to identify file "+data"
ORA-17502: ksfdcre:4 Failed to create file +data
ORA-15041: diskgroup "DATA" space exhausted

The target (source) is on ASM using OMF (Oracle Managed Files). The auxiliary (destination) is also using ASM and OMF. I looked through the rman log and found a lot of set newname commands like this:

executing command: SET NEWNAME

No filename is specified so it makes up new filenames, which are different from the previous run. So that’s why I ran out of space.

I used asmcmd to remove all of the files and reclaim the space.

Easy fix, but initially confusing.

2 thoughts on “Oracle error 19505 returned by remote Oracle server

  1. I found this very helpful. I was using My Oracle Support KB ID 452868.1 as my reference on how to duplicate the database, but that example uses an empty database with no ASM. My database was not empty and was on ASM, so I had the same issue you did. I used asmcmd to cleanup the datafiles and cleared up my ORA-19505 errors. Thanks so much for taking the time to blog it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

