WebLogic Server 11g: WLS Administration Essentials

I used Weblogic version 6 and 7 in the early 2000’s for a SAP web front end before Oracle bought Weblogic. I had never attended an administrator course though, so there were a lot of gaps in my knowledge. We are using Weblogic here for Oracle Fusion Middleware SOA, Enterprise Manager Cloud Control and APEX (Oracle Application Express).

I had a limited time window for training and the only class available was in Belmont, CA on the Oracle campus. This worked out pretty well and I had the opportunity to explore the campus and the surrounding area. Our instructor Takyiu Lui spent a lot of time making sure we really understood the material and supplemented the material with diagrams on the whiteboard as well as pdfs of all of the whiteboard diagrams for each day of the 5 day class. Here are the course topics. Here’s an architecture diagram.

I came away from the training with a new appreciation of what is possible with Weblogic. I think most people are not utilizing much of it’s functionality. I also got some good information on sizing garbage collection and tuning in general. So I can recommend this as a valuable class for anyone managing or configuring Weblogic Server.

Leave a Reply

