CRS-2800: Cannot start resource ‘ora.asm’ as it is already in the INTERMEDIATE state on server

I got this error when I was installing Oracle RAC 11.2 on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.6.  I was installing Clusterware using ASM on VMware shared disks.  When I created the independent persistent virtual disks, I left the “allocate all disk space now” option unselected. Oracleasm was happy on both RAC nodes. The Oracle installer was happy when it created +ASM1 on the first RAC node. But when the ASM instance started on node 2 it did not like the “virtually provisioned” disk. The +ASM2 instance was not open and was complaining about one of the shared disks being corrupt at a certain byte. When I checked the virtual disk files, I saw that Oracle was trying to read past the end of the file. I started all over with new fully allocated shared disk and that fixed the problem. Everything is up and running now.

One thought on “CRS-2800: Cannot start resource ‘ora.asm’ as it is already in the INTERMEDIATE state on server

Leave a comment